Creepiest Beer EVER!

I received a beer trade recently from a great blogger pal from DC, Lyrics, Libations and Life. Now, normally, I’m on top of my shit and get things out in the mail when I say I will. I’m not going to make excuses about how terribly important I am (but I am, trust me) but am going to take a moment to publicly apologize (for, like, the millionth time in my life) and say I’m an asshole. But my end of the bargain is currently on it’s way and filled with Oregon (and one Washington) goodness. I am also going to stop using parentheses…right…now.

My husband is away on National Guard business, or as I like to call it, much to his chagrin, Army Sleep Away Camp. It’s very rude and disrespectful of me, but I’m very proud of him and I find it funny. So, once again, asshole. Well, again, giving way to my asshole nature, I promised not to open any of the beer trade beers until he was back, but he ate the last ice cream cone, so I said “Screw you, I’m drinking this beer!”

This beer is My Imaginary Girlfriend IPA from Lost Rhino Brewing Company. This is the creepiest damn beer I’ve ever had.

This is going to replace the whale in my nightmares.

I want to know a couple things immediately. This is your imaginary girlfriend, she can look like any ole babe, so why John Malkovich? Sure, he’s my celebrity crush, but we’re done talking about what an asshole I am. Why is she so huge? I guess it’s your fantasy, she can be as big as you like. How equally creepy is this beer going to taste? Where can I get that couch?

What’s a guy gotta do to get a little head around here?

I hesitantly popped this bottle and found the scent to be light and refreshing with pine and citrus notes and, dare I say, cucumber? Hand to God, it’s in there. It pours a nice hazy orange golden color, but it was hard to get even a little head. (That’s what she said! And yes, that’s two fellatio jokes in one post, just be glad I’m tired and can’t think of more.) The beer is lightly carbonated and finishes a little dry. There is decent bitterness at the back of the palate and it’s well balanced. Overall, it’s a solid, straight forward IPA. It’s one of those beers you drink over and over with your John Malkovich girlfriend because, like her, you know it’s reliable and not going to let you down, but you’re also not going to write your mom to tell her about it.

6 Comments

Filed under Beer, Beer exchange, Blogging, Craft Brewery, Review

6 responses to “Creepiest Beer EVER!

  1. Coby

    Yar. This is going to replace the whale in my nightmares. Yar

  2. I happen to think it’s awesome you went for this beer first. Glad you liked it. Just wait till you get to the bottle of DC Brau I sent you!

  3. FYI, I’m not reviewing the Gravity Mountain beer you sent me, but I just had it and I really liked it. A good balance of hops and malts. Really pleased!

    • That’s a pretty cool beer. At the time I got it because it was the only bottled beer from Double Mountain as it was a collaboration. They’ve just added a bottle line which I am stoked about.

Leave a Reply

